Bloomington Misdemeanor Lawyer
An Experienced Former Prosecutor to Defend You in Peoria, Tazewell, and Champaign Counties
Charged with a misdemeanor in Bloomington, IL? Don’t let an unfair charge get the best of your future. At JP Law Office, we will take a thorough look at your legal situation and build a personalized defense strategy to argue for reduced or even dismissed charges. As a former prosecutor, Attorney Jennifer Patton has seen both sides of the law and can consequently anticipate what the state might bring against you. This will prove uniquely advantageous as you prepare for and negotiate your case.
Call (309) 455-5584 or contact JP Law Office online for a free consultation to learn more.
Class A-C Misdemeanors
Misdemeanors are classified into three classes in order of seriousness – Class A, Class B, and Class C. Class A misdemeanors are generally punishable by:
- less than 1 year in jail or periodic imprisonment;
- up to 2 years of probation or conditional discharge; and/or
- a fine of $75-$2,500.
Some examples of Class A misdemeanors include:
- theft, shoplifting of property worth up to $500;
- simple battery; and
- violating a domestic violence protective order or an anti-stalking no-contact order.
Conviction of a Class B misdemeanor can result in a sentence of:
- up to 6 months in jail or periodic imprisonment;
- up to 2 years of probation; and/or
- a fine of between $75-$1,500.
Common Class B misdemeanor crimes are:
- possession of 10-30 grams of cannabis;
- using electronic communications to harass someone (cyberbullying); and
- dumping garbage on someone else's property without consent.
The least serious misdemeanors in Illinois, Class C misdemeanors, will involve the following penalties:
- up to 30 days in jail or periodic imprisonment;
- up to 2 years of probation; and/or
- a fine of $75-$1,500.
Crimes that are considered Class C misdemeanors include:
- simple assault;
- illegal storage of a gun where the owner knows that a child under the age of 14 is likely to obtain it; and
- disorderly conduct.
If you are facing misdemeanor charges in Illinois, reach out to JP Law Office for legal guidance on your next steps. Note that under the state’s statute of limitations, prosecutors may not file misdemeanor charges after 18 months from the date of the alleged crime. Attorney Jennifer Patton can take a look at your specific situation, whether you are facing Class A misdemeanor charges or Class C misdemeanor charges. We will do our best to argue for mitigated or dismissed charges in your defense and protect your rights in the criminal justice system.
Schedule a free consultation online or at (309) 455-5584 to discuss your best legal strategy with JP Law Office.
Misdemeanor Penalties in Illinois
In Illinois, misdemeanors are generally crimes punished by less than 1 year in a local or county jail. For certain misdemeanor crimes, judges may impose the following in addition to or instead of a jail sentence:
- probation or conditional discharge;
- some amount in fines;
- periodic imprisonment (90 days or less) which involves release from jail for periods of time to allow the defendant to do things like work, look for a job, attend school, take care of family needs, or live at home with an electronic monitoring device; and
- an order to pay restitution.
Any misdemeanor jail sentence must be a determinate sentence for a set period of time and must include a period of mandatory supervised release after release.
Be aware that some misdemeanor crimes may become felonies, such as:
- when the defendant had a previous conviction for the same crime; or
- if the crime was committed in a certain place (e.g., theft of $500 or less at a place of worship or a school).