Traffic offenses are treated very seriously by Illinois law, especially incidents like driving on a suspended license, reckless driving, and leaving the scene of an accident. At JP Law Office, we have been defending clients for nearly 30 years and are deeply familiar with both the Bloomington court system and state traffic laws. We will take a personalized approach to your defense as we fight to protect your driving privileges and argue your case for mitigated or dismissed traffic charges.
Call JP Law Office at (309) 455-5584 or contact us online to get started in a free consultation.
Another serious traffic offense is leaving the scene of an accident. There are several statutes addressing the crime based on different circumstances:
- Accident resulting only in damage to an attended vehicle – Class A misdemeanor punishable by up to 12 months in jail and up to $2,500 in fines (the state may impose a 12-month license suspension if the damage to the vehicle is worth more than $1,000)
- Accident resulting only in damage to an unattended vehicle – Class A misdemeanor punishable by up to 12 months in jail and up to $2,500 in fines
- Accident resulting in personal injury or death – Class 4 felony punishable by and possible enhancement to a Class 1 or 2 felony
If you have been charged with a traffic crime in Bloomington, reach out to our office for immediate legal support. Whether you are facing accusations for driving on a suspended license or for leaving the scene of an accident, JP Law Office can help you out of your legal mess.
Schedule a free consultation with our firm online or at (309) 455-5584 to get started. Let’s get you back on the road.
Driving on a Suspended License
It is a traffic crime to drive while your license is suspended or revoked. Offenders may be charged with a petty offense, a Class A misdemeanor, or a felony, depending on the case and whether you have any prior convictions. A petty offense will be punishable by up to $500 in fines, and Class A misdemeanors are punishable by $75-$2,500 in fines and up to 1 year in jail.
Those who have previous convictions for driving on a suspended license or whose license was revoked for reckless homicide could face up to $25,000 in fines, as well as a prison sentence depending on the class of felony they will be charged with:
- Class 1 felony – 4-15 years
- Class 2 felony – 3-7 years
- Class 3 felony – 2-5 years
- Class 4 felony – 1-3 years
The Illinois Vehicle Code defines the traffic crime of reckless driving as:
- when a person is willfully or wantonly disregarding the safety of other people or property while driving;
- when a person knowingly uses an incline to cause their vehicle to become airborne.
Some examples of reckless driving could be speeding, rapidly swerving between lanes without signaling, and any other kind of negligent driving behavior.
Reckless driving offenses are Class A misdemeanors punishable by up to 364 days in county jail and/or up to $2,500 in fines. A conviction will also impose 1 point on your license, and accumulating a certain amount could result in a period of license suspension. Note that drivers under 21 years old may have their license suspended for having merely 2 points on their license.